Changelog, technical limitations & known issues for BALTECH Mobile ID
Here, you can find the changelog as well as the known issues with the latest versions of the Mobile ID Manager and app.
The app doesn't work when closed by the user or the operating system
The phone doesn't need to be unlocked for the Mobile ID app to work, but the app needs to be open in the background. Otherwise, it's technically not possible for the card reader to recognize the app.
If the app stops working, it may have been closed by the user (manually or by rebooting the phone) or by the phone's operating system, which sometimes closes apps automatically.
Reopen the app.
The phone displays an Apple Wallet authentication prompt
Users who keep debit or credit cards in Apple Wallet may be prompted to authenticate with Wallet when presenting their phones to a card reader. This is because card readers not only communicate via Bluetooth (which is needed for the Mobile ID app), but also via NFC (Near Field Communication). NFC is needed to read physical ID cards, but this is also the technology on which Apple Wallet is based.
You can safely ignore this prompt. Mobile ID and Apple Wallet do not interfere with each other's functionality and safety.
User status in Mobile ID Manager doesn't refresh automatically
When a user activates or resets their app, the status displayed in Mobile ID Manager doesn't refresh automatically.
Reload the page or log out and log in again.
Users who delete their apps are still displayed as Active in Mobile ID Manager
When a user resets their app, the user is removed from the list in Mobile ID Manager. However, if the user doesn't reset the app, but delete it instead, it's technically not possible to notify Mobile ID Manager about this. Thus, Mobile ID Manager keeps displaying the user as Active.
To remove the user from the list, delete them in Mobile ID Manager. The user will first be displayed as Deletion pending, but will be removed after 24 hours. If you want to re-invite the user, you can do so immeditely: Currently, it's still possible to add another user with the same e-mail address and ID as an existing user.
After restoring from a backup, the app displays the Trying to check permissions... screen
When a user restores their content to a new iPhone from a backup, e.g. after losing their old iPhone, the app shows the screen Trying to check permissions... instead of the Active screen. This means that the app is in offline mode.
Usually, the app switches to offline mode when the phone has been offline for more than 24 hours. In this mode, the app is temporarily disabled until the phone goes back online and can check with Mobile ID Manager if it still has permissions. However, after restoring from a backup, the app currently remains permanently in offline mode.
Upon interaction with a reader, the app will be activated for 24 hours. After 24 hours without reader interaction, the app will switch back to offline mode until the next interaction.
Mobile ID Manager being down for > 24 h will temporarily cause apps to stop working
If Mobile ID Manager is down for more than 24 hours, all Mobile ID apps will be temporarily disabled. The reason is that each app needs to contact the server every 24 hours to check if it still has permissions, or if the admin has deleted the user and revoked permissions in the meantime.
We recommend physical ID cards as a backup, especially during the beta phase. As soon as Mobile ID Manager is up and running again, apps will be enabled again.
Changelog for the Mobile ID app
Please refer to the App Store.
Changelog for Mobile ID Manager
- Initial beta release